Skip to main content

Leadership and administration

Committed to fostering science excellence

Leadership and administration

Committed to fostering science excellence

Interim Dean Vrushali Bokil stands in front of bushes on campus in a bright blue suit
Vrushali Bokil, Interim Dean of the College of Science

Message from Interim Dean Vrushali Bokil

Welcome to the College of Science at Oregon State University!

We are an inclusive, collaborative and innovative community with a mission to develop the next generation of science leaders, mentors, educators and cultural shapers to advance scientific discovery and science literacy. Our community addresses local, regional and global challenges to provide solutions to improve the human condition.

Through the implementation of our diversity action plan, Embedding Equity Access & Inclusion, we are invested in creating a multi-faceted view of success to enable healthy science identities for all members of our community along with a strong sense of belonging to the college. We aim to ensure that all our scientists or science educators have equitable access to succeed in science and in our community.

We have integrated and embedded this diversity action plan into a collaborative strategic planning process to generate collective wisdom for actionable initiatives which has led to a College Strategic Plan to be launched this year.

Our seven departments include a diverse portfolio of research, scholarship and innovation activities to enable fundamental and applied discoveries. Our world-renowned faculty are recognized for their scientific expertise especially in the signature areas of BioHealth & Biomedical Sciences, Genomics & Bioinformatics, Sustainable Materials Research, Climate, Marine and Coastal Sciences, Quantitative, Computational & Data Sciences and Science Education Research. We are invested in foundational and discovery-driven science, and use-inspired and collaborative interdisciplinary research. Our federally funded centers and world-class facilities provide impactful solutions to society’s challenging problems.

In our College, you will have the opportunity to work collaboratively with talented and committed faculty to push the boundaries of scientific knowledge and work on impactful solutions for societal grand challenges. You will be embedded within a community invested in providing the best science education possible, accessible to all Oregonians and to all people from around the world that call our community home.

Vrushali Bokil

Interim Dean, College of Science

Board of Advisors

The College of Science Board of Advisors is diverse group of individuals, distinguished in their careers that span a spectrum of fields related to science programs. They serve as an advisory body to advance our mission and vision within the college, across Oregon and beyond with external constituents. They are an invaluable source of counsel to Interim Dean Bokil.


Vrushali Bokil
Interim Dean

Kameron Kadooka
Director for Equity, Access and Inclusion

Kim McQueen
Executive Assistant to the Dean

Jessica Siegel
Associate Dean - Academic and Student Affairs

Virginia Weis
Acting Associate Dean - Research and Graduate Studies

Tze-Yiu Yong
Project and Event Manager

Research Development Unit

Bettye Maddux
Director of Research Development

Kendra Mingo
Research Development Coordinator

More research development resources

Science Success Center

Kris Gage
Student Success Coordinator

Gabs James
Associate Director of Student Engagement

Carol McKiel
Associate Director of Undergraduate Student Recruitment

Jennifer Olarra
Head Advisor

Rachel Palmer
Assistant Director of Career Development

Devon Quick
Learning Assistant Program Director

Learn more about the SSC

Marketing and Communications

Hannah Ashton
Science Writer

Sharon Betterton
Senior Graphic Designer

Tamara Cissna
Director of Marketing and Communications

Arie Henry
Web and Digital Communications Manager

Cari Longman
Assistant Director of Marketing and Communications

Marketing and communications resources


Marlys Amundson
Senior Director of Development, College of Science

Hannah Hegerberg
Associate Director of Development, College of Science

Tom McLennan
Sr. Director of Development

Kacee Navarro
Administrative Assistant

Financial Strategic Services - Science

Jonathan Rosa
Financial Strategic Partner

Learn more about these services

University Information and Technology

Andrew Wheeler
Director, Customer Experience

Connect with UIT

Human Resources

Jennifer Hill
Human Resources Manager

Access Human Resources