Skip to main content

Leadership and administration

Committed to fostering science excellence

Leadership and administration

Committed to fostering science excellence

Roy Haggerty in front of shrubbery
Roy Haggerty, Dean of the College of Science

Message from Dean Roy Haggerty

Welcome to the College of Science, a strong academic community intent on building a better world through scientific discovery. Recognized nationally as a center for excellence in research and teaching, our college is home to some of the world’s leading research in marine, environmental, biomedical and materials sciences.

As a scientist, I am always thinking about the state of science globally, nationally and in Oregon. Science is the single greatest force for good in human history. That is why we do the work we do – seeking knowledge that explains how the universe works and applying our insights to original solutions that improve lives and protect our planet.

If you are driven by a deep curiosity and desire to pursue science, our college offers future scientists, like you, the optimal environment to pursue curiosity-driven research and prepare to make lasting contributions for a healthy planet. You will learn from faculty who pride themselves on innovative teaching methods and doing groundbreaking research that leads to solutions for some of our world's greatest concerns. You will engage in interactive learning opportunities in the classroom and deepen your understanding through experiential learning outside the classroom—by studying overseas, building knowledge in one of 200 research labs on campus or doing an internship at a national lab.

Whether you are motivated to push the boundaries of cancer research, develop new ways to protect marine health, or make a difference in others’ lives in a health profession, our public-minded college will provide the education and support to help you launch your journey.

Start here with a degree in science and go anywhere. Science is better at Oregon State University.

Roy Haggerty

Dean, College of Science

Board of Advisors

The College of Science Board of Advisors is comprised of a diverse group of individuals, distinguished in their careers that span a spectrum of fields related to science programs. They serve as an advisory body to advance our mission and vision within the college, across Oregon and beyond with external constituents. They are an invaluable source of counsel to Dean Haggerty.

Meet our team

Administration

Roy Haggerty
Dean
roy.haggerty@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3886

Henri Jansen
Associate Dean - Academic and Student Affairs
henri.jansen@oregonstate.edu
541-737-4645

Douglas Keszler
Associate Dean - Graduate Studies and Research
douglas.keszler@oregonstate.edu
541-737-6736

Bettye Maddux
Director of Research Development
bettye.maddux@oregonstate.edu
proposals.science.oregonstate.edu
541-737-7304

Kim McQueen
Executive Assistant to the Dean
kim.mcqueen@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3886

Andrew Wheeler
Director - College of Science Information Network
andrew.wheeler@oregonstate.edu
cosine.oregonstate.edu
541-737-3846

Tze-Yiu Yong
Project and Event Manager
tzeyiu.yong@oregonstate.edu
541-737-378

Science Success Center

Heather Arbuckle
Head Advisor
heather.arbuckle@oregonstate.edu
541-737-4786

Melissa Lee
Transfer Advisor and Recruiter
melissa.lee@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3522

Gabrielle James
Associate Director of Student Engagement
gabrielle.james@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3279

Tzu-Chin (Claire) Wu
Assistant Director of Career Development
claire.wu@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3859

Integrated Professional Development

Chris Larson
Director of Partnerships and Industrial Programs
chris.larson@oregonstate.edu
541-737-6574

Tamara Mitchell
Associate Director of Learning and Design
tamara.mitchell@oregonstate.edu
541-737-7818

Katy Dumelle
Assistant Director of Integrated Professional Development
katy.dumelle@oregonstate.edu
541-737-1774

Marketing and Communications

Sharon Betterton
Senior Graphic Designer
sharon.betterton@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3882

Tamara Cissna
Interim Director of Marketing and Communications
tamara.cissna@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3274

Srila Nayak
Senior Marketing Writer and Content Strategist
srila.nayak@oregonstate.edu
541-737-5831

Advancement

Marlys Amundson
Director of Development, College of Science
marlys.amundson@osufoundation.org
541-737-0055

Tom McLennan
Sr. Director of Development
tom.mcLennan@osufoundation.org
541-737-0847

Kacee Navarro
Administrative Assistant
kacee.navarro@osufoundation.org
541-737-8897