Skip to main content

Leadership and administration

Committed to fostering science excellence

Leadership and administration

Committed to fostering science excellence

Vrushali Bokil
Vrushali Bokil, Interim Dean of the College of Science

Message from Interim Dean Vrushali Bokil

Welcome to the College of Science at Oregon State University!

We are an inclusive, collaborative and innovative community with a mission to develop the next generation of science leaders, mentors, educators and cultural shapers to advance scientific discovery and science literacy. Our community addresses local, regional and global challenges to provide solutions to improve the human condition.

Through the implementation of our diversity action plan, Embedding Equity Access & Inclusion, we are invested in creating a multi-faceted view of success to enable healthy science identities for all members of our community along with a strong sense of belonging to the college. We aim to ensure that all our scientists or science educators have equitable access to succeed in science and in our community.

We have integrated and embedded this diversity action plan into a collaborative strategic planning process to generate collective wisdom for actionable initiatives which has led to a College Strategic Plan to be launched this year.

Our seven departments include a diverse portfolio of research, scholarship and innovation activities to enable fundamental and applied discoveries. Our world-renowned faculty are recognized for their scientific expertise especially in the signature areas of BioHealth & Biomedical Sciences, Genomics & Bioinformatics, Sustainable Materials Research, Climate, Marine and Coastal Sciences, Quantitative, Computational & Data Sciences and Science Education Research. We are invested in foundational and discovery-driven science, and use-inspired and collaborative interdisciplinary research. Our federally funded centers and world-class facilities provide impactful solutions to society’s challenging problems.

In our College, you will have the opportunity to work collaboratively with talented and committed faculty to push the boundaries of scientific knowledge and work on impactful solutions for societal grand challenges. You will be embedded within a community invested in providing the best science education possible, accessible to all Oregonians and to all people from around the world that call our community home.

Vrushali Bokil

Interim Dean, College of Science

Board of Advisors

The College of Science Board of Advisors is comprised of a diverse group of individuals, distinguished in their careers that span a spectrum of fields related to science programs. They serve as an advisory body to advance our mission and vision within the college, across Oregon and beyond with external constituents. They are an invaluable source of counsel to Interim Dean Bokil.

Meet our team

Administration

Vrushali Bokil
Interim Dean
bokilv@math.oregonstate.edu
541-737-2544

Kameron Kadooka
Director for Equity, Access and Inclusion
kameron.kadooka@oregonstate.edu
541-737-0009

Kim McQueen
Executive Assistant to the Dean
kim.mcqueen@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3886

Jessica Siegel
Associate Dean - Academic and Student Affairs
jessica.siegel@oregonstate.edu
541-737-6574

Virginia Weis
Acting Associate Dean - Research and Graduate Studies
virginia.weis@oregonstate.edu
541-737-8062

Tze-Yiu Yong
Project and Event Manager
tzeyiu.yong@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3780

Research Development Unit

Bettye Maddux
Director of Research Development
bettye.maddux@oregonstate.edu
proposals.science.oregonstate.edu
541-737-7304

Kendra Mingo
Research Development Coordinator
kendra.mingo@oregonstate.edu

Science Success Center

Gabs James
Associate Director of Student Engagement
gabs.james@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3279

Kris Gage
Student Success Coordinator
kris.gage@oregonstate.edu

Jennifer Olarra
Interim Head Advisor
Jennifer.Olarra@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3270

Marketing and Communications

Hannah Ashton
Science Writer
Hannah.Ashton@oregonstate.edu

Tamara Cissna
Director of Marketing and Communications
tamara.cissna@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3274

Cari Longman
Assistant Director of Marketing and Communications
cari.longman@oregonstate.edu

Sharon Betterton
Senior Graphic Designer
sharon.betterton@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3882

Arie Henry
Web and Digital Communications Manager
arie.henry@oregonstate.edu

Advancement

Marlys Amundson
Director of Development, College of Science
marlys.amundson@osufoundation.org
541-737-0055

Hannah Hegerberg
Assistant Director of Development, College of Science
hannah.hegerberg@osufoundation.org
541-223-3913

Tom McLennan
Sr. Director of Development
tom.mcLennan@osufoundation.org
541-737-0847

Kacee Navarro
Administrative Assistant
kacee.navarro@osufoundation.org
541-737-8897