Skip to main content

Spring 2017

The Climate Issue

IMPACT title peering over cloud covered earth

Today’s environmental challenges call for scientists to be advocates and to deeply engage with people to spur change.

As Dean of Science, my personal gratification comes from seeing members of our OneScience community thrive. Our faculty, students and alumni are attracting recognition for excellence in teaching, service and research. I am so proud of their successes.

A chemistry faculty was named 2017 Outstanding Educator in Science by the Oregon Academy of Science for extraordinary teaching achievements. Three mathematicians received national awards: for distinguished teaching by the Mathematical Association of America; for teaching and research in mathematics education by NSF; and for leadership in mathematical modeling and numerical simulation of oceanography and climate dynamics by the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics/Geosciences.

Renowned marine scientist Jane Lubchenco received the Public Welfare Medal from the National Academy of Sciences, its highest honor. Jane has recently helped raise the visibility of science in the media, urging scientists and supporters of science not only to develop data- and science-based policies, but also to stand up and speak up for science.

I am proud of our faculty’s national and international recognition. Extraordinary scholars, teachers and mentors are just what we need to enhance the success of all our students.

Our College continues to develop new strategies to improve student success and equalization by closing gaps in degree completion for Pell-eligible, first-generation and underrepresented students. We are firmly behind President Ed Ray and OSU’s Student Success Initiative.

I hope you enjoy reading about our impact on climate change by informing policy, mitigating risk and sustaining resources. We must stand together for science and show its value and relevance to the world. Thank you for supporting science at OSU and beyond.

Sastry G. Pantula
Dean, College of Science