Skip to main content
Marita Barth in front of black backdrop

Marita C. Barth

Senior Instructor I
Department of Chemistry

Marita C. Barth

Senior Instructor I
Department of Chemistry



Postdoctoral Fellow, Massachusetts General Hospital / Harvard Medical School (2007-2010)

Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2007)

B.S., Oregon State University (1998)


  • Barth MC, Ahluwalia N, Anderson TJ, Hardy GJ, Sinha S, Alvarez-Cardona JA, Pruitt IE, Rhee EP, Colvin RA and Gerszten RE (2009) Kynurenic acid triggers firm arrest of leukocytes to vascular endothelium under flow conditions. Journal of Biological Chemistry 284(29):19189-95
  • Barth MC, Dederich D and Dedon PC (2009) An improved method for large-scale preparation of negatively and positively supercoiled plasmid DNA. Biotechniques 47(1):633-5
  • Dedon PC and Barth MC (2007) Oxidatively Damaged DNA and Inflammation. In Evans, M. and Cooke, M (eds.) Oxidative Damage to Nucleic Acids. Landes Bioscience, Austin, TX
  • Dedon PC, Barth MC, Chen B, DeMott M, Dendroulakis V, Dong M, Kalinga S, Elmquist E, Margolin Y, Pang B, Zhou X (2006) Diverse Mechanisms of Endogenous Nucleobase Deamination in DNA and RNA. In Fishbein, J. (ed.) Advances in Molecular Toxicology I. Elsevier, Amsterdam pp 25-63
  • Collins C, Zhou X, Wang R, Barth MC, Jiang T, Coderre JA,Dedon PC (2005) Differential oxidation of deoxyribose in DNA by g and a-particle radiation. Radiation Research 163(6):654-62
  • Reddy AP, Hartig U, Barth MC, Baird WM, Schimerlik M, Hendricks JD, Bailey GS (1999) Inhibition of dibenzo[a,l]pyrene-induced multi-organ carcinogenesis by dietary chlorophyllin in rainbow trout. Carcinogenesis 20(10):1919-26.


  • Milton Harris Faculty Teaching Award (2014)
  • American Heart Association Postdoctoral Fellowship (2009-2010)
  • Poitras Predoctoral Fellowship (2002-2003)
  • National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate Fellowship (1999-2002)