Skip to main content

Academic Advising

Academic Advising

Supporting student success and academic excellence

The relationship between a student and an advisor is one of the most important relationships for the student's academic success. Building a strong relationship with your academic advisor will help you make the most of your academic journey as a science major. Advisors in the College of Science are focused on creating a welcoming and inclusive environments to encourage exploration, growth and development of all students.

Professional and faculty advisors help students make sound academic decisions that support their success and goals. Students can consult them about selecting courses, electives and minors to pinpoint a career focus, guidance about navigating university policies, and getting involved with experiences outside of the classroom to connect you to the campus community while gaining important career experiences. Advisors help students stay on track to graduation and write recommendations to graduate/professional schools and employers. We recommend that you see your advisor at least once a term to stay on course for graduation.

Department advisors will also connect you with research, internship and study abroad opportunities that will enhance your academic and career preparation.

How advising works

Each student has an academic advisor in their major to help you navigate your college experience. They can answer questions about course selection, degree requirements, and getting involved with activities in your major such as clubs, research, study abroad, internships, job experiences and much more. They can answer questions about course selection, degree requirements and getting involved with science activities such as student clubs, undergraduate research, study abroad, internships, leadership opportunities, hands-on work experiences and much more.

First-year students are required to meet with their major advisor once per term in the fall, winter and spring to be able to register for classes. After the first year, students are required to meet with their major advisor in the spring.

In addition to our academic advisors, students also have access to the College's Advising Team located in the Science Success Center in Kidder 109. All science students have access to our central advising team, which includes a Head Advisor, Success Advisor, Transfer Advisor and a team of student Peer Advisors.

Questions your advisor can answer

  • What can I do with this major?
  • Where can I get help with my classes?
  • I am worried I'm not going to make it at OSU; Which academic support resources do I need?
  • How do I balance school, work, family, etc?
  • How can I get help paying for food?
  • How do I gain experience in my field through job shadows, internships, etc?
  • How do I study abroad?
  • How can I get involved in research?
  • How do I join a student club? Where do I find them?
  • What are some good bac core/elective courses to take

The College Advising Team

Heather Arbuckle, Head Advisor
heather.arbuckle@oregonstate.edu
541-737-4786
Kidder Hall Suite 109 — Student Success Center

Contact Heather with questions about: Scholarships, student petitions, student advising concerns


Melissa Lee, Transfer Advisor and Recruitment Advisor
melissa. lee@oregonstate.edu
541-737-3522
Kidder Hall Suite 109 — Science Success Center

Contact Melissa with questions about: Transfer credits, transfer student transitions, transfer planning


Jennifer Olarra, Student Success Advisor
jennifer.olarra@oregonstate.edu
541-737-7972
Kidder Hall Suite 120 — Student Success Center

Contact Jennifer with questions about: Academic success strategies, science major exploration, students in need.

Schedule an appointment with Jennifer:
30 minute
60 minute

The Department Advising Team: Advisors in your Major

Biochemistry and Biophysics
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Kari Van Zee, Lead Advisor
vanzeek@science.oregonstate.edu
541-737-1773
Agricultural & Life Sciences Building 2141

Viviana Perez

Viviana.Perez@oregonstate.edu

541-737-9551

Linus Pauling Science Center 351

Lauren Dalton

lauren.dalton@oregonstate.edu

541-737-8482

Agricultural & Life Sciences Building 2039

Maria Franco

maria.franco@oregonstate.edu

541-737-4997

Agricultural and Life Sciences Building 2103

Kate Shay

kate.shay@oregonstate.edu

541-737-5074

Andy Karplus

andy.karplus@oregonstate.edu

541-737-2769

Agricultural and Life Sciences Building 2101

For detailed instructions for making an advising appointment, please visit the advising page at the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics.

Biology and Zoology

Brock McLeod, Lead Advisor
541-737-2993
brock.mcleod@oregonstate.edu
Cordley Hall 3029

Maureen Leong-Kee

Maureen.Leong-Kee@oregonstate.edu

541-737-2993

3029 Cordley Hall

Cody Duncan

Cody.Duncan@oregonstate.edu

541-737-2993

3029 Cordley Hall

Joseph Meyer

meyerjos@oregonstate.edu

541-737-2993

3029 Cordley Hall

For detailed instructions for making an advising appointment, please visit the advising page at the Department of Integrative Biology.

Christine Pastorek, Lead Advisor
christine.pastorek@oregonstate.edu
541-737-6732
Gilbert Hall 247

Neal Sleszynski (Premed option only)

neal.sleszynski@oregonstate.edu

541-737-6761

Gilbert Hall 231

James D. Ingle, Assistant Head Advisor

james.ingle@oregonstate.eblakemoredu

541-737-6743

Gilbert 018

Marita Barth

barthm@oregonstate.edu

541-737-4194

Gilbert 153

Chris Beaudry

christopher.beaudry@oregonstate.edu

541-737-6746

Linus Pauling Science Center 233

Paul Blakemore

blakemop@oregonstate.edu

541-737-6728

Linus Pauling Science Center 235

Chong Fang

chong.fang@oregonstate.edu

541-737-6704

Linus Pauling Science Center 255

Kevin Gable

kevin.gable@oregonstate.edu

541-737-6744

Gilbert 234

Margie Haak

margie.haak@oregonstate.edu

541-737-6716

Gilbert 141

Chris Knutson

christopher.knutson@oregonstate.edu

541-737-2554

Gilbert 133

Wei Kong

wei.kong@oregonstate.edu

541-737-6714

Gilbert 004

Joseph Nibler

joseph.nibler@oregonstate.edu

541-737-6715

Gilbert 101

Daniel Myles (premed option only)

daniel.myles@oregonstate.edu

541-737-6756

Gilbert 145

Jeff Walker (Premed option only)

jeffrey.walker@oregonstate.edu

541-737-6762

Gilbert 233

Paula Weiss

paula.weiss@oregonstate.edu

541-737-3702

Gilbert 3702

For detailed instructions for making an advising appointment, please visit the advising page at the Department of Chemistry.

BioHealth Sciences (BHS) students with last name: L-M; sophomores, juniors and seniors with last name: A-K, please contact:

Shawn Massoni

shawn.massoni@oregonstate.edu

541-737-7020

Nash Hall 333

BHS students with last name: A-K (Freshman only), please contact:

Janine Trempy

trempyj@oregonstate.edu

541-737-4441

Nash Hall 220

BHS students with last name: N-Z; sophomores, juniors and seniors with last name: A-K, please contact

Alex Beck

alex.beck@oregonstate.edu

541-737-5414

Nash Hall 226

For detailed instructions for making an advising appointment, please visit the advising page at the Department of Microbiology.

Microbiology majors with last name: A-L, please contact

Linda Bruslind, Lead Advisor
bruslindl@oregonstate.edu
541-737-1842
Nash Hall 322

Microbiology majors with last name: M-Z, please contact

Allison Evans

allison.evans@oregonstate.edu

541-737-5968

Nash 326

Kenton Hokanson

kenton.hokanson@oregonstate.edu

541-737-1840

Nash 323

For detailed instructions for making an advising appointment, please visit the advising page at the Department of Microbiology.

Mathematics majors with last names: T-Z, contact

Adel Faridani, Lead Advisor
MathHeadAdvisor@math.oregonstate.edu
541-737-5182
Kidder Hall 294A

Mathematics majors with last names: A-B, contact

Tom Dick (Secondary Teaching Emphasis option)

tpdick@math.oregonstate.edu

541-737-1570

Kidder 108 D

Mathematics majors with last name: C-G, contact

Yevgeniy Kovchegov

kovchegy@math.oregonstate.edu

541-737-1379

Kidder 060

Mathematics majors with last name: H-M, contact

Enrique Thomann

thomann@math.oregonstate.edu

541-737-5160

Kidder 368E

Mathematics majors with last name: N-S, contact

Holly Swisher

swisherh@math.oregonstate.edu

541-737-5167

Kidder 058

For detailed instructions for making an advising appointment, please visit the advising page at the Department of Mathematics.

David McIntyre, Lead Advisor
phys-advising@science.oregonstate.edu
541-737-1696
Weniger Hall 303

For detailed instructions for making an advising appointment, please visit the advising page at the Department of Physics.